New Jersey Marriage/Civil
Click here for the State of NJ official Vital Statistics
site and to obtain Marriage License forms
Click here for Civil Union Laws
State of New Jersey Requirements for
Entering into a
For two persons to establish a
Marriage in this State, it shall be necessary that they satisfy all of the
Not be a party to another civil
union, domestic partnership or marriage in this State or recognized by this
Be of the opposite sex ; and
Be at least 18 years of age,
except that applicants under the age of 18 may enter into a Marriage with
parental consent. Applicants under the age of 16 must obtain parental consent
and have the consent approve in writing by any judge of the Superior Court,
Chancery Division, Family part.
Applying for Your
The marriage license application
is to be made in the New Jersey municipality in which either party resides and
the license is valid throughout the State of New Jersey.
If neither applicant is a New
Jersey resident, submit the application in the municipality where the marriage
ceremony will be performed, the license is
only valid in the issuing municipality.
Documents and Information
Apply for a Marriage License:
If you are divorced or have had a
marriage annulled, please bring the divorce decree or the civil annulment
If your former spouse is deceased,
please bring the death certificate,
A copy of your birth certificate,
driver’s license, passport or state I.D.
Proof of your residency.
Your social security card or
social security number.*
A witness (18 years or older) who
knows both the male and female applicants.
The $28 application fee.
social security number is required by law and will be kept confidential.
Any documents in a foreign language
must be accompanied by a certified English translation.
There is a 72-hour waiting period
before the license is issued. The waiting period begins when the application is
filed with the Local Registrar.
The marriage license application is
valid for six months from the date accepted, unless the Registrar has given
prior approval to extend the validity of the application to a maximum of one
Only one marriage license may be
granted from a marriage application. If the license expires before being used, a
new application must be made and another $28 fee remitted.
The only exception to this
requirement is in the case where a civil and religious ceremony are to be
performed on the same day. In this case, the Local Registrar will photocopy the
marriage application, marking one “A” and one “B”, and issue the corresponding
marriage licenses, marking them “A” and “B” as well. One copy will be used for
the religious ceremony and the other for the civil ceremony.
New Jersey Blood Test:
New Jersey does not require blood
tests to apply for wedding licenses.
Filling Out and Filing the
Marriage License by Officiant Rev. Baker:
Do not write on or alter your license once the Registrar clerk has issued
it. Once the ceremony is completed, I will fill out the Officiant
section of the license. I will ask your two witnesses,
over the age of 18, to sign the license. They will need to sign your marriage license in my presence.
I give you
a copy and keep a copy for my records. I will then file the license with
the Registrar in the town in which the wedding took place.
Obtaining an Official Copy of
the Marriage Certificate:
You will need to contact the
Registrar of Vital Statistics in the town in which you were married for a copy
of the certificate.
Copies are normally about $5.00. The registrar will let you know what information they need to send you a copy